Weekend: (noun); synonym for emotional roller coaster.


Wow. This weekend. Where do I even start?

We left for VA on Friday morning: stressed, rushing, carsick, nervous, tired.

We got to VA on Friday night: Excited! Happy! Laura and Ray are getting married!!!! I finally get to see my mountain family again! Rehearsal dinner was lovely! Food was delicious! And everyone was just filled with magic, joy, and untamable smiles.

Saturday morning was an early one! We got up, showered, ate breakfast (okay, hotel breakfast, ehhh), and got on the road to get our nails done! Talk about a good start to the morning. Foot massages? Yes please. Especially for the bride. I’ve never seen a girl so exhausted.

Here comes the emotional roller coaster. Jay called while we were getting pedicures to tell us that Grandma Holderfield was headed to the hospital. But we weren’t worried, she’s a strong woman, she’d be beautiful and ready to dance come wedding time! I’ve never felt so wrong in my life. Momma called and said Grandma Holderfield passed away. Before we were even done processing that she was going to the hospital, she was gone. My heart was so broken for Laura. And for the Holderfields. What was supposed to be the happiest day of her life just got such a jolt.

But we have to get her married. And boy did we. The ceremony was beautiful. I laughed, I cried, I cried some more, but most of all, my heart full of sadness, was overcome with joy so immense that I didn’t even know how to handle it. I’m not even sure I recognized it! We walked up and down the aisle, we took pictures, we ate, we danced (First with Marshall, but then even Papa Holderfield saved a dance for me!), and then we sent that beautiful pair out on to their honeymoon.

To say that we crashed on Saturday night would be the understatement of the year. I remember taking 49 bobby pins out of my hair, and thats about it. Somewhere along the way I managed to change into pajamas, brush my teeth, and hang up the bridesmaids dress. Do I remember any of this? Nope… like I said, tired was an understatement.

Sunday morning we woke up, had another hotel breakfast, and made our way to Winston Salem (Marshall drove, I slept the whole way) where we had lunch with Marshall’s family! I love visiting them :) And then decided it was about time to get back to the beach.

We walked in the front door, greeted so enthusiastically by Kenya, who wanted to play, and I just sat down, crashed again. I remember thinking “What just happened” – processing how so much happened in 48 hours that I didn’t even think about it all weekend. Has that ever happened to you? It’s just now all catching up to me – that Grandma Holderfield’s funeral was this afternoon… that Laura and Ray were hopefully having happier thoughts on a beach somewhere. That we had traveled hundreds of miles in 2 days. That school starts next week and I’m not even registered for classes. Holy cow. Mind overload.

This weekend was filled with happiness and sadness. Smiles and tears. Hugs and dances. Stress, and relaxation. Worry, and wonder. Wedding rings and sweet sweet vows. The emotions in 48 hours were unbelievable. I feel like I’m still catching up. I can only imagine what it’s still like up there in VA for my mountain family. So I’m still sending thoughts and prayers their way. (Please send some up there for them, it’s going to take a lot of time and love to get over this weekend).

Romans 14:8 For if we live, we live to the Lord, and if we die, we die to the Lord. So then, whether we live or whether we die, we are the Lord’s.

One response to “Weekend: (noun); synonym for emotional roller coaster.

  1. papa holderfield

    Thank you Annalee for coming into our lives. We have grown to love you like family and Grandma would have been so proud to get to know you better. But at least she did know you and that is a blessing…

Leave a Reply

