Just a moment.


As long as I can remember, leaders and mentors have told me of the importance of quiet time. Whether its a few minutes when you wake up in the morning, or a break in the craziness of the afternoon, or maybe just some time before you get to bed; quiet time is imperative, it’s required, it’s everything.

Now if you know me at all, you know that’s not possible. I like my alone time, and my home time, but if you know me that well, you know that my home alone time is just me getting to the things on my to do list. I make a list every day; things to do, places to go, people to see, projects to start or finish. And every night the leftovers get placed onto the top of tomorrow’s list. It’s never ending, it’s stressful, it’s hard, and it’s exhausting.

This beauty is at my fingertips every single morning. And I couldn’t tell you the last time I saw it. The last time I took it all in and appreciated where I am and what I have. I wake up and I run. And I run and run until it’s time to go to bed. Even in the evenings, when I’m done with my list for the day and I have the time to write this blog, or read my book for small group, or just watch a movie with Marshall, my head is racing! Right now I’m thinking about upcoming exams, my app project, my “pre-employment” list of things to do, Relay, and then back around to upcoming exams.

The quiet time that I never cared about is becoming more and more like golden minutes. Next on my to do list: find time each day, that I can just sit on my own and think. I’m starting to get lost in my thoughts and I need clarity. Even if only for 15 minutes a day, I need to stop what I’m doing and set myself up for the day.

Do you take time for yourself each day? You probably should.

It’s funny, day by day I’m becoming more and more like my youth leaders. It’s incredible how people can shape you, and see what you need 10 years ahead of time…

Be kind,

Annalee

Leave a Reply

