Finally. “You did a great job”.


If you know me at all, you know that I rely on feedback. Scores. Grades. Reports. Reviews. High fives and a pat on the back. I have perfectionist tendencies… which has me at a steady “Nervous until you know you did well” approach to life.

Well God help you the day you go from regular updates by grades and exams in college… to a full time job; where the general idea seems to be “If you haven’t been fired, you’re doing fine”.

I’m a go getter. A people pleaser. And I landed a job where you only get a review once a year.

So this past weekend was insane. I mean, I loved it. I like the excitement, when things get crazy.

The best part is that it’s only during these times when you get to see your squad work together. I’m talking about when everyone drops everything and comes running. There’s nothing like seeing everyone team up, and take care of a messy situation. There’s nothing like knowing that for that moment, everyone had your back.

Now, usually, that’s where it ends. You go back to your day like nothing ever happened. And usually you don’t hear too much about it.

Except this weekend. I’ve been striving every day to do everything right. To handle things myself until I just can’t anymore. To prove that I’ve got this. Well all of that went out the window. But when all was said and done, I heard exactly what I’ve been waiting to hear.

“You did exactly what you were supposed to do. You handled that very well. You did a great job”

I mean I felt like Michael freaking Phelps winning the most important race in the Olympics. Seriously.

Screen Shot 2013-07-30 at 2.16.20 PM

 

So, back to normal we go. And back to working on myself I go. But that was the best feedback I could have asked for. That’s exactly what I needed to keep going.

“I learned that courage was not the absence of fear, but the triumph over it. The brave man is not he who does not feel afraid, but he who conquers that fear.” – Nelson Mandela

 

Leave a Reply

