Mean people need not… be.


The world isn’t going to love you.

Romans 12:21 Do not be overcome by evil, but overcome evil with good.

Screen Shot 2013-12-18 at 8.59.19 PM There will always be someone that hates you; someone that wishes you never were; someone that will do everything they can to block your footsteps, tear you down, and make you quit.

There will always be someone that you cannot please. Someone that is looking for ways to get you.

James 1:20 For the anger of man does not produce the righteousness of God.

The hardest part is that you aren’t supposed to let them get to you. You’re supposed to take the hit and move on. You’re supposed to roll with the punches and come out on top.

I’ve never been one to “brush it off“. I have always been nervous about what other people think about me. I’ve always had other people’s opinions of me on my shoulders. I always let other’s words do my talking.

I’ve let the way others see me, become the way I see me.

And it makes me angry. It makes me feel worthless. It tears me down.

Exodus 14:14 The Lord will fight for you, and you have only to be silent.

I wish I could say no more. I wish I could just be that person that doesn’t feel the negativity. Someone that can just take the hit and move on. I’m not good at rolling with the punches.

I just wish there never were punches.

But I also don’t think this is something you can learn overnight. I don’t know that this is something you can 100% change about yourself. While 99% of me might one day be able to hear negativity and walk away smiling, there might always be that 1% that feels bruised.

Matthew 12:36 I tell you, on the day of judgment people will give account for every careless word they speak.

And I want to argue back! I want to right their wrong! I want to make it known that I am better! I want to back myself up, because sometimes, a lot of times, it feels like there’s no one around me that is backing me up. Sometimes I feel like I’ve been left to defend myself, but I’m not allowed to defend myself.

But I know that the answer is to keep calm. Take their words. Take their wrongs.

And someday, maybe one day, come out victorious.

You’re gonna hear me roar.

I ain’t settling, for anything less than everything.

Leave a Reply

